Create a Hand Lettered Animated Gif in Photoshop

I recently made a video tutorial on YouTube on creating hand lettered gifs. There’s a lot of ways to create animated gifs. This is just one way I create animated gifs, I’m also always still exploring other methods. This is a very simple and easy way to get started especially if you want to animate text. I’m completely obsessed with creating gifs of all types because they are catchy and very popular right now! This is the hand lettering I started out with below.

I then brought in the vector file into Photoshop, duplicated the layer four times, and added a color overlay to each layer with different colors. I set up the file as 800px by 800px square format for uploading on Instagram since that’s where I typically upload most of my work. If it’s going on a banner for a website, I would figure out the size first before you set up the Photoshop file to animate the artwork. Check out my tutorial below and let me know if you have any questions!

 

 

Author: Diane Pascual

Designer | Digital Tie-Dye Patterns | Online Educator

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started